House Rules

Tables of Organization

Vehicles and Equipment

Scenarios and Action Reports

Settings and Histories


Reference Information

Articles of Interest

Gallery and Modeling

Contact and Submissions

Stargrunt II Errata

Back to Reference Information main page

We have collected some "official" errata for the Stargrunt II rules. This information has been gathered from several sources. Robin Lee Powell supplied the results of several email conversations he had with Jon Tuffley. Mike Elliott (one of the original Stargrunt authors) has written a number of corrections also, and Andy Cowell had them on his own website. Recently (as of October 2002), Allan Goodall has let us present the errata he has collected mostly from discussions on the GZG email list. We are indebted to Robin, Andy and Allan (and, of course, Jon and Mike) for this information.

Stargrunt II Errata Back to Top

From Jon Tuffley via Robin Lee Powell:

  • Yes, the author is working on Bugs Don't Surf. Please don't bug him about it, he's very, very busy. I asked him due to paranoia with other small-press supplements (such as the promised supplements for the Amber RPG).
  • Page 13, near the top left, says that being in cover modifies the armour die. The summary on page 36 says that no modifiers should be applied to the armour roll. Page 13 is correct. This has a substantial effect on the affects of cover.
  • Pursuant to the above: Being IP can make you harder to hit with direct fire, but not harder to hurt once hit. So, being IP does not affect the armour roll for direct fire. This is fine, as that's what the rules say, but I checked specifically due to the error above. In addition, it should be noted that being IP does shift the Armour Die up one for Indirect Fire.  ~Ed.
  • Page 6, paragraph 8 makes a reference to page 38, but no such remark (about open shifts in an armour/impact roll) is made on page 38. Such a comment is made on page 13 (right column, paragraph 4). The author's verdict is that the armour/impact roll is an open shift for vehicle hits as well as infantry. Combined with the above about cover, the armour vs. impact roll for infantry takes on a very different flavour.
  • From the author: TO&E stands for Table of Organisation and Equipment - this is standard "real" military terminology. I had to ask as I know absoultely nothing of real-world military terminology.
  • The fact that armour is ignored for purposes of close combat is an abstraction/simplification to allow close combat to be resolved faster and more easily. Much of close assault is more a matter of psychology and weapons/armour anyway...

From Mike Elliott via Andy Cowell:

  • p33, General Fire Procedure, paragraph 6 should read: "NO WEAPON MAY BE FIRED MORE THAN ONCE PER ACTIVATION."
  • p35. FIRE RESOLUTION para 1 line 4 should read: "... "Target" player will roll ONE dice ..."
  • p36 SUMMARY OF INFANTRY FIRE PROCEDURE STEP3, delete "No modifiers used." Same on the playsheet. Cover DOES modify armour die type.
  • p40, UNGUIDED ROCKETS, should read " the rocket's Firepower die (a D10)..." Playsheet and p34 list correct Firepower die.

From Jon Tuffley via Allan Goodall:

Command Levels and Transfer Actions  A command squad can transfer actions to a subordinate squad. What happens, though, when you have more than one level of command on the table, such as when you have a company commander present on the table? How many times could a squad have actions transferred to it?

This is the official clarification from Jon Tuffley. No squad may be activated in one turn more times than there are command levels present on the table, where squad leaders = command level 1; platoon leaders = command level 2; company commanders = command level 3, and so on.

Thus: if only squads are present on-table, no squad may activate more than once (there is no-one to transfer actions); if a platoon command is present then a squad may be activated twice (its own and one re-activation), if company command is present a single squad may activate up to three times (its own, platoon commander reactivation and company commander reactivation of platoon commander, who reactivates the squad), etc.

Medics and Reorganise Actions  This is the official clarification from Jon Tuffley.

As written in the rules, a squad conducts a Reorganise Action to, among other things, determine the health of wounded characters. During the Reorganise Action you roll to see if each casualty is okay, wounded, or dead. There is a modifier to this roll if a medic is in the squad.

The rules don't take into account the possibility of medics acting as individual figures or as small squads in their own right; the rule assumes that a medic is part of a squad. What happens if you have medics that are not part of any specific squad? Can they still help heal wounded figures? If so, who pays for the Reorganise Action, the squad being healed or the medic?

If you have medics as individual figures, or as independant squads, they may heal members of other squads as long as they are within integrity range of the squad. The medic figure/squad conducts the Reorganise Action itself as one of its two actions. This special "healing" Reorganise Action does not require the squad with the wounded figures to be activated. However, this special Reorganise Action can only be for the purposes of healing figures. The status of the wounded figure is the only thing that is done with this Reorganise Action. If the squad wishes to Reorganise for any other purpose, it must do so as part of its own activation.

Vehicle Impact Versus Armour  This rule has been playtested, and is now considered an "official" rule (by Jon Tuffley) for those who wish to adapt it.

The way the rules are written, when rolling Impact versus Armour for vehicles both the impact and the armour rolls are expressed as multipliers to a D12 roll. For instance, level 2 armour would mean the vehicle rolls D12 and multiplies the result by 2, while a class 3 heavy weapon would roll a D12 multiplied by 3 for a minor hit and a D12 multiplied by 6 for a major hit.

The new rule states that instead of rolling a D12 and multiplying the result by the weapon class size or the armour level multiplier, you instead roll a number of D12s equal to the multiplier and add the dice totals together.

Example: A GMS/L fires at the front of an APC with level 3 armour. The GMS/L scores a major hit. This gives a "multiplier" of x4. Under the new rules, the GMS would roll 4 D12s, adding up the result. The APC would roll 3 D12s, adding the result. The totals are compared as usual to determine what happened to the vehicle.

Back to Top

Copyright 2001 - 2006 by Adrian Johnson and Thomas Barclay.
For further details, see our Copyright and Terms of Use notice.

Any questions regarding this website should be directed to the Webmaster.